Film Business Plan Template Reviews | Crash Course in Film Financing
Film Business Plan Templates Reviews

Movie Investor Toolkit Reviews

Real Filmmaker Reviews
Coming Through the Rye

Just want to thank you for your materials and help over the past year. I could not have raised the $1.5 million or made this film without the materials you provided. The bargain of my career!
- James Sadwith, Producer, Writer, Director," Coming Through the Rye

Film Business Plan

The information here is extremely valuable to an independent filmmaker looking to present themselves in a professional, compelling manner to potential investors. These documents do get results. The financing package offers information and training I didn't even get in a top film school. I only wish I had known about FilmProposals earlier!
- Seth, NYU Film Grad and Independent Filmmaker

Find Film Investors

I haven’t been this excited in years. As someone who is changing careers later in life, I can’t tell you how much the information you provided is going to help me jumpstart my new path. I was devouring the information as soon as I downloaded it. There is a ton of great information and I’m so happy your company exists!
- BJ (August 2020)

Film Proposal Template

The resultant projections are what I needed, and the early feedback from the "suits" in this project is that I've presented a clear yet compact overview of the prospects. They were also surprised it could be presented so concisely and without a complex MBA-style model. By the way, in my projections not all the outcomes are golden, and that adds to my respect for the template.
- TV Producer, now Consultant

Film Proposal Template

When I came across the Business Plan Tools and Finance Guide, I felt like I could stop searching for the pot of gold ... I’d found it. In one place, with clear, easy to follow materials and spreadsheets, my questions were answered. It still depends on me and what I do, but the blueprint is all there. Thanks.
- Barry Pierce, Producer, River Dreaming Entertainment

Film Business Plan

I am delighted with it! It has saved me time, shown me the light and illuminated the WAY. I am well on my way, a few months after receiving this information, towards producing my FIRST Feature! Thanks a million!
- Vic

Film Business Plan Services

I LOVE THIS MATERIAL. I have read several other books on financing, but this program gives you an in depth look into PPM, Business Plans and how to approach financial world of film investors.
I learn several new ideas for financing a film. also, I learned how to write a business plan, a ppm, etc. This material will give you the knowledge you need to get to where you want to go in the film industry. I truly recommend this material for any indie film maker.
- Charles Franklin

2020 is YOUR Year - Make Your Movie

FilmProposals Business Plan Package

Fast Track Your Film Financing Today!

Silver

Most Popular
$139

***Gold***

NEWEST!
$499

Testimonials

Check out some of our Filmmaker Reviews
  • Just want to thank you for your materials and help over the past year. I could not have raised the $1.5 million or made this film without the materials you provided -- and for $99? The bargain of my career!

    James, Producer, Writer, Director
  • I'm now sending out my completed business plan/film proposal document to potential investors and the one comment I'm getting back almost immediately is that it's so well laid out and professional. Believe me, first impressions really do count.

    Kathleen
  • This is perfect! I have potential investors but I had no idea how to prepare a professional investment package to present to them. (I'm an artiste', not a business person. :) ) The information is clear and easy to understand, and Melissa is very prompt in answering emails.

    Balancing Act Pictures LLC
  • When I came across the Business Plan Tools and the Finance Guide, I felt like I could stop searching for the pot of gold...I’d found it. In one place, with clear, easy to follow materials and spreadsheets, my questions were answered.

    Barry, Filmmaker
  • Hi Melissa! I purchased Package #3 a couple of days ago, and I feel like I'm taking a crash course in film financing. So far, what I've read and learned has been invaluable. Thank you!

    Emily
  • I've made short films before, but this is my first feature, and the first film I've tried raising money for. This template, actually the whole package, has been invaluable and well worth the money I spent on it. So much information is packed into what I got that I'm almost dizzy from it all.

    Wade

We recently purchased your film proposal program and we have found it to be one of the best investments we've done for our company. We want to proceed with the business plan review and gather your feed back!

J, L & V, Producers

An amazing set of incredibly helpful templates, guide books, advice. The best $99.00 I have spent in a very long time. Congrats FilmProposals!!

Diane

Thank you for the Film Financing Package #3 (with the 7 bonus items). The content is substantive, professional, organized and immensely useful and practical. I've been promised this sort of material in the past from other resources and it's NEVER been this comprehensive. Kudos to you!

Jon

Great information. Just what I need, a structure to getting the finance I need to make my film.
- Peadar, November 2020

Great Value!! I really wasn't sure what to expect. Nut was pleasantly surprised to get some great templates and information that has more than once proved to be very valuable.
- Anonymous, November 2020

I really wasn't sure what to expect. But was pleasantly surprised to get some great templates and information that has more than once proved to be very valuable.
- Jimmy, October 2020

I love this program. I'm new to this industry and this is helping me become more professional. I have spent a lot of time working on my own and getting things accomplished but my projects are getting bigger so as I grow and my team grows with me, these tools will help me to communicate better. Having the basic fundamentals can go a long way in this industry and it make it easier to work with other. Thank you for providing a platform for individuals like myself.
- Owner of K. Simmons Productions, October 2020

Film Proposals was the best investment! When I presented my project to my investor, they were blown away how prepared I was and rarely see filmmakers have half the documents I supplied. It showed that I was serious as a filmmaker and as a business person. I purchased the Gold package with the PPM. The PPM took all the heavy lifting off and saved me so much money that would of cost me thousands from an attorney. The package got me prepared from business plan to financials. I did my research on my film and similar films and just plugged in the info. I had everything prepared and professionally done. On top of that, they offered a review after I followed the steps they gave me.
- Angelo, September 2020

Outstanding! I think the website is great and I really think the information presented is amazing. I don't really have much of a critique outside of maybe the site could be streamlined a bit better. It can be a bit confusing, but it's not terrible. Also, I think the cost of the PPM is expensive. I do understand the great benefit, but considering that most people coming to this site are doings so for next level information they probably can't afford to slam almost 500 dollars down on a document they haven't executed before :) But that is just my opinion. All in all i'm very happy with my information gained from your site and I will be sharing and recommending.
- Richard, September 2020

I haven’t been this excited in years. As someone who is changing careers later in life, I can’t tell you how much the information you provided is going to help me jumpstart my new path. I was devouring the information as soon as I downloaded it. There is a ton of great information and I’m so happy your company exists!
- BJ, August 2020

The business plan is very well-written and structured. Having never had to write a business plan before, it is good value for money, and a valid means of seeing what's meant to go into one.
- Michael, August 2020

Worth every penny. This package has opened my eyes to new possibilities and opportunities in the world of filmmaking.
- July 2020

BEST BUSINESS PLAN. I ordered the gold package and it has been a great tool to help secure investors. The review was a great option because it helped me fine tune my business film proposal to be its best. I would highly recommend this package. It's a small investment to secure a huge investor.
- May 2020

I bought the Silver Package Movie Financing toolkit and it was more than expected. I haven't actually started on my filmmaker business plan, but going through all the tools there more than enough tools to build strong and impressive business plan. The template is not the normal run of the mill, but its designed where all you need to do it edit and tailor to your individual plan. There are a lot of other good things in the package to make a successful business plan: Financial PROJECTION, COMPARABLE MARKET DATA, INVESTOR INFORMATION, SAMPLE PITCH LETTER AND SO MUCH MORE. I have paid for templates before, but they were so hard to work, so I sought out the FilmProposals Toolkit, and found it to be everything they said it would be!
- John Johnson (May 2020)

Was having the most difficult time trying to create and write a business plan for my production company. When I came across Film Proposals and their templates/resource materials, it was a business plan blessing. It made my life so much easier and I was able to complete a 36 page business plan for a production company in a MUCH shorter time.
- Kem Charles (May 2020)

As a independent filmmaker I've been working hard in getting this information from the WWW. I could only afford the bronze package at this time but I have found it invaluable. The business plan, manual and spreadsheet has save me so many man hours and I know I will be using them time and again. Thanks for your product and when I can I'll certainly upgrade to gold which I am sure will be just as good.
- Joe London (May 2020)

This has been very informational and helpful. I would love to see more examples of the legal agreements that are used (for acquiring script rights, typical distribution contract, etc.). I’m trying to wrap my head around all the legal stuff and would love more of that information. I would also have liked to see more data on how Covid-19 has impacted the industry so far. I realize the information does not exist yet, but I found myself hoping for it anyway. Overall, I’m quite pleased with how helpful it has been. Thank you!!
- Jacob (May 2020)

Where to start – one of the best things about using filmproposals.com was the step by step process to not only put together a professional proposal but with all the material that’s included – it is a crash course on how the mechanics of the business part of ‘show business’ actually works. If you take your time to absorb all that is offered – you will be prepared for entry into this very insular business – especially from the point of view as a writer and producer. It’s not that all the books and books of material about this business aren’t helpful – but filmproposals.com has laid it all out in a digestible form so that it makes sense in a business that sometimes appears to have no rhyme of reason on how things work or ever get produced.

As in any business venture – there are ‘tricks of the trade’ – but when dealing with investors – it is all arranged in great detail what you are offering and what they definitely expect. After completing my proposal – I feel more prepared than ever to take the next steps! Thank you filmproposals.com!

The business plan info really opened my eyes to how a lot of this business is so dependent on a sound business plan... and that creativity does not have to be compromised.

I looked at this page probably a dozen times over a couple of months before buying the Silver kit. Thing is, there aren’t many sites on the net that have good information on film finance and distribution and even though the Silver Package was $99, I needed an investor template. So with a money back guarantee I figured it was safe. They send lots of information and some of is very hard to find. I personalized a couple of the templates for a project I was working on and that saved me dozens of hours writing the stuff from scratch. I would say it’s a good investment and if it doesn’t fit what your doing, exercise the guarantee. For me it was a deal in what time I saved.

Invaluable Templates. Thank you so much for gathering this information and making it available to the filmmaking community. This information is invaluable to those of us in the independent filmmaking space. I am following the templates to create a great proposal for my project.
- Drea

Helpful Tools for Indie Filmmakers. I've been happy with my purchase. It has been enlightening to read about the more in-depth aspects of film financing, and going through the silver package has stimulated a whole new creative process aimed at building an appealing business plan. This was all a foreign concept to me not long ago, so I really appreciate being exposed to the film business world in such a thorough and understandable manner.
- Charlie

I've just spent 20 minutes going through the materials I purchased with Package #3 and I already know it is going to be a huge help in getting me to the next stage in my producing career. I can't wait to dive in and start creating my first business plan.

**Update*** I’ve now worked with it for a few weeks and thought I’d let you know what I think. I liked it a lot. The format is well organized and professional looking and much of the text is worthwhile. I also chatted with your rep on line before hand and they answered my questions very well which allowed me to move forward with the purchase with confidence. It is a pity the the MPAA reports are not available until April. Thanks for putting together what appears to be a very useful package, and the website has a ton of great info too.
- Tim

Hi Melissa, Thank you for this package, it is extremely useful as I am gearing up to meet several potential investors in the following weeks. The manual is filled with useful information and teaches the way to communicate in business terms. It is the first time I come across such a useful and complete information guide. The templates will help me tremendously and save me much time which is always needed. I now feel much more confident going to these meetings!
- Laurence

Beyond Expectations. Exactly what I was looking for. As a 30 yo money and finance guy looking for specific tools for the film industry... this more than fit the bill. Thank you!
- Charles Brummel

I am excited to hear all the success that Filmmakers are having with Film Proposals.com Investor Package. I just ordered package #3 with 7 FREE Bonuses and I cannot wait to dig into it! WHOO-HOO!! - Tommy Phipps

Hi Melissa! I purchased Package #3 a couple of days ago, and I feel like I'm taking a crash course in film financing. So far, what I've read and learned has been invaluable. Thank you!
- Emily

Very Helpful. I've made short films before, but this is my first feature, and the first film I've tried raising money for. This template, actually the whole package, has been invaluable and well worth the money I spent on it. So much information is packed into what I got that I'm almost dizzy from it all.
- Wade

For years, Melissa @ Filmproposals.com has provided high-quality products and services that have helped launch innovative creative content companies, and products. Developing creative entrepreneurs will gain a perspective on preparing, and structuring a cinema content business. Seasoned professionals will find Filmproposals.com a reliable source of "Up-to-Date" information and insight reflected in the tools, tips, and perspectives Melissa's company offers. In all, FilmProposals.com delivers a consistent level of quality, and value well managed.
Thank You, Reg

2020 is YOUR Year - Make Your Movie

FilmProposals Business Plan Package

Fast Track Your Film Financing Today!

Silver

Most Popular
$139

***Gold***

NEWEST!
$499

Testimonials

Check out some of our Filmmaker Reviews
  • Just want to thank you for your materials and help over the past year. I could not have raised the $1.5 million or made this film without the materials you provided -- and for $99? The bargain of my career!

    James, Producer, Writer, Director
  • I'm now sending out my completed business plan/film proposal document to potential investors and the one comment I'm getting back almost immediately is that it's so well laid out and professional. Believe me, first impressions really do count.

    Kathleen
  • This is perfect! I have potential investors but I had no idea how to prepare a professional investment package to present to them. (I'm an artiste', not a business person. :) ) The information is clear and easy to understand, and Melissa is very prompt in answering emails.

    Balancing Act Pictures LLC
  • When I came across the Business Plan Tools and the Finance Guide, I felt like I could stop searching for the pot of gold...I’d found it. In one place, with clear, easy to follow materials and spreadsheets, my questions were answered.

    Barry, Filmmaker
  • Hi Melissa! I purchased Package #3 a couple of days ago, and I feel like I'm taking a crash course in film financing. So far, what I've read and learned has been invaluable. Thank you!

    Emily
  • I've made short films before, but this is my first feature, and the first film I've tried raising money for. This template, actually the whole package, has been invaluable and well worth the money I spent on it. So much information is packed into what I got that I'm almost dizzy from it all.

    Wade

Just what I needed! This is perfect - I have potential investors but I had no idea how to prepare a professional investment package to present to them. (I'm an artiste', not a business person. :) ) The information is clear and easy to understand, and Melissa is very prompt in answering emails. Thanks!
- Balancing Act Pictures LLC

This is fantastic. I am confident having this awesome tool to present our film proposal to investors. Easy to follow and implement to our film project. We highly recommend it.

We recently purchased your film proposal program and we have found it to be one of the best investments we've done for our company. We want to proceed with the business plan review and gather your feed back!
- J, L & V, Producers

Great Tools for writing a business plan the first time! The Business Plan Tools gives you a great starting point for writing your truly professinal business plan before you go out to seek funding for your film. A no-brainer for newbies and low level of experience producers who wanna take the next step.
- MrBigJ, independent film producer

Brilliant!! An amazing set of incredibly helpful templates, guide books, advice. The best $99.00 I have spent in a very long time. Congrats FilmProposals!!
- Diane

Professional Tools to get the Investors to Give Money. Wow!! I just purchased the Finance Film Package #3. It is really good. I am an experienced Film Producer and I have been trying to get financing for 3 years for my film Smoke E.Z. I need $8,000,000. After 3 years I gotta take the plunge and get some professional tools to get the investors to give money for my film. I don't $10,000 for all of this to be done, so I have the challenge to do it myself. This is a really good package to buy if you are looking to finance a film over $5,000,000.
- Spencer J. Fox

Thank you for the Film Financing Package #3 (with the 7 bonus items). The content is substantive, professional, organized and immensely useful and practical. I've been promised this sort of material in the past from other resources and it's NEVER been this comprehensive. Kudos to you!
- Jon

After much research on the subject, we chose the FilmProposals.com Package #3's business plan and financial templates, which we are already putting to good use for our new film production LLC, "Take Us There Films." Also included in this package were several documents filled with helpful hints and good, solid advice that's sure to bring in the investments that will make our company successful. I highly recommend subscribing to your newsletter and checking out the blog. Your website itself is filled with invaluable information. Thank you.
- Judith Ososkie

After several days of researching where to get the materials for our upcoming Feature film Independent Low Budget project I finally decided to try FilmProposals.com and their information in downloadable format. I was shocked and impressed after purchasing Package #3 as to the thoroughness and amount of information provided! I will soon be starting pre-production on my first feature film as director, producer, screenwriter, and have already begun development, fundraising, and my business plan is 10 times better than it was before receiving their materials and information. Wow! Thanks.
- Randolph M Hirsch

Just want to thank you for your materials and help over the past year. Just finished post on our $1.5 million picture "Coming Through the Rye" with Alex Wolff and Chris Cooper. I could not have raised this money or made this film without the materials you provided -- and for $99? The bargain of my career!
- James Sadwith, Producer, Writer, Director "Coming Through the Rye"

2020 is YOUR Year - Make Your Movie

FilmProposals Business Plan Package

Fast Track Your Film Financing Today!

Silver

Most Popular
$139

***Gold***

NEWEST!
$499

Testimonials

Check out some of our Filmmaker Reviews
  • Just want to thank you for your materials and help over the past year. I could not have raised the $1.5 million or made this film without the materials you provided -- and for $99? The bargain of my career!

    James, Producer, Writer, Director
  • I'm now sending out my completed business plan/film proposal document to potential investors and the one comment I'm getting back almost immediately is that it's so well laid out and professional. Believe me, first impressions really do count.

    Kathleen
  • This is perfect! I have potential investors but I had no idea how to prepare a professional investment package to present to them. (I'm an artiste', not a business person. :) ) The information is clear and easy to understand, and Melissa is very prompt in answering emails.

    Balancing Act Pictures LLC
  • When I came across the Business Plan Tools and the Finance Guide, I felt like I could stop searching for the pot of gold...I’d found it. In one place, with clear, easy to follow materials and spreadsheets, my questions were answered.

    Barry, Filmmaker
  • Hi Melissa! I purchased Package #3 a couple of days ago, and I feel like I'm taking a crash course in film financing. So far, what I've read and learned has been invaluable. Thank you!

    Emily
  • I've made short films before, but this is my first feature, and the first film I've tried raising money for. This template, actually the whole package, has been invaluable and well worth the money I spent on it. So much information is packed into what I got that I'm almost dizzy from it all.

    Wade

I just bought this Business Plan Tools but I thought it will include a draft for investors agreement for the investors which I can't find. Please be kind to tell me it it includes something I can use to sign with my investors.
- Mauricio Arouesty

FilmProposals Answer: Hi Mauricio! We are not sure why you thought any of our Film Investment Packages would include a legal agreement incorporating any number of dozens of variables that are impossible (and illegal) to create without the services of an attorney. Maybe this will help you: Film Investor Contract Template

Thank you! I just stumbled across your site looking for film industry forecasts. Wow. It took me two seconds to download your income projection spreadsheet. I will look into your other services as I am putting together my business plan.
- Ross Schriftman, Writer and Producer, My Million Dollar Mom

Incredible information. An absolute gold mine for the independent filmmaker. Do yourself a big favor and order today!!!
- Barry Morgan

Make Your Movie! Great stuff. Lots of great nuggets with these packages in a world full hard to find, hidden and secret information! Thanks!

Exactly what I needed! I purchased the financing manual, the film projections template, and the business plan template package for $99 and it was exactly what I was expecting! Great purchase and incredibly fast delivery. The documents were exactly what I was looking for! Highly Recommend to purchase this package as it does come with everything you may need to structure your rough business plan draft!
- R. Vilar

It's exactly what we were looking for. The package is very clear, simple to use and includes all we need to prepare a very good business plan. Thank you very much. -Amine

Great Materials. This package is a great material to my career!!
- Tom

Hello, I purchased your package and I am delighted with it! It has saved me time, shown me the light and illuminated the WAY. I am well on my way, a few months after receiving this information, towards producing my FIRST Feature! Thanks a million!
- Vic, Richmond, Virginia, SOMEWHERE in CHINA!!

After searching the internet for some guidelines, we found the tools and resources on your site that will allow us to create a professionally prepared investor package. The information and templates provided have spared us from hours of research. Thank you.
- Eleanor

GREAT STUFF!!! This package is very useful. Very educational and saves tons of time researching and building plans and projections from scratch. I would highly recommend this to anyone trying to raise money for an independent film.
- Tony

2020 is YOUR Year - Make Your Movie

FilmProposals Business Plan Package

Fast Track Your Film Financing Today!

Silver

Most Popular
$139

***Gold***

NEWEST!
$499

Testimonials

Check out some of our Filmmaker Reviews
  • Just want to thank you for your materials and help over the past year. I could not have raised the $1.5 million or made this film without the materials you provided -- and for $99? The bargain of my career!

    James, Producer, Writer, Director
  • I'm now sending out my completed business plan/film proposal document to potential investors and the one comment I'm getting back almost immediately is that it's so well laid out and professional. Believe me, first impressions really do count.

    Kathleen
  • This is perfect! I have potential investors but I had no idea how to prepare a professional investment package to present to them. (I'm an artiste', not a business person. :) ) The information is clear and easy to understand, and Melissa is very prompt in answering emails.

    Balancing Act Pictures LLC
  • When I came across the Business Plan Tools and the Finance Guide, I felt like I could stop searching for the pot of gold...I’d found it. In one place, with clear, easy to follow materials and spreadsheets, my questions were answered.

    Barry, Filmmaker
  • Hi Melissa! I purchased Package #3 a couple of days ago, and I feel like I'm taking a crash course in film financing. So far, what I've read and learned has been invaluable. Thank you!

    Emily
  • I've made short films before, but this is my first feature, and the first film I've tried raising money for. This template, actually the whole package, has been invaluable and well worth the money I spent on it. So much information is packed into what I got that I'm almost dizzy from it all.

    Wade

Excellent information for starting a film company. The information and software given really helps with all the in and outs for starting a company in the film or production industry. It is worth the $99.00 to get started. This was an excellent investment for our company to get started in this industry.
- Chris

I’ve been out of the industry for a lot of years and venturing back means I have to update and polish my knowledge. When I came across the Business Plan Tools and the Finance Guide, I felt like I could stop searching for the pot of gold ... I’d found it. In one place, with clear, easy to follow materials and spreadsheets, my questions were answered. It still depends on me and what I do but the blueprint is all there. Thanks. - Barry Pierce, Producer, River Dreaming Entertainment

Extremely Beneficial! The Film Proposals package is more than worth the money! The business plan is very complete, and easy to modify to your specific needs. FilmProposals.com has thought of everything. It's time to make a movie!
- Dan LaPray

Really like the automatic spreadsheet, the main reason I purchased your package. I also like the proposal layout and will use it for private investors. I'm actually prepping a film for AFM and am using a little bit of a different proposal for that, but the charts are fantastic and a real timesaver. Thanks again! - Jess, Producer

I purchased your products when developing our project. It has been hugely helpful; we are currently working with a noted Hollywood Producer who has hundreds of millions of critical and box office successes on his IMDB page, http://pandoranage.com. - Dante

I really think you have done an amazing job putting together this package and it brings me great relief knowing that I can consolidate all the information and paperwork into one clean and professional package. - Michael, Producer, Honolulu, HI

Melissa, the unlocked version really helped a lot. Now I can work in other numbers such as Number of theater screens, P&A Interest, tax incentive/rebates, loan interest, and revenue splits with investors. I hate Excel, so this is very useful. Thanks again - I really appreciate it. - Scott, Producer

A great jumping off point and confidence builder. I found the business plan template and film financial comparison table a great starting point. Reading through the Film Financing Manual, I gained a lot of confidence that reinforced my own ideas. I ended up taking the bits I wanted and customizing other sections to create a condensed and concise 11 page business plan, backed up by a whole lot of figures and data. In the US economic slump I found investors were looking for alternate investments with high yield and my Film Investor Brief was perfect! - Andrew

Suggestions for FilmProposals - I wish I had known earlier you can unlock and edit formulas and format. I ended up copying what I could of the Excel spreadsheet and customizing it. I also linked it to a cash-flow graph which is a great visual tool for less savvy investors who just get lost in the data.

Gave Me Critical Elements Investors Seek and Helped Me Organize. The package provides an important template that helps structure the business element of film making. For the longest time I stared at the screen that was to be my self developed "business plan"...to no avail.

Then I found your Manual and Template and your software not only gave me the critical elements that any investor might be looking for but also helped me organize the many facets of the process. More than creating a film "implementation" path, it also helps create a shared vision with other shareholders. Overall a great tool for the Independent. - Mike LaChapelle

One suggestion for FilmProposals to complete this vision might be sample agreements between producers and investors or creatives and producers. The nomenclature of Hollywood accounting/investment has changed over the years and a guide to industry terminology would be helpful.

Both FilmProposals Site and Business Tools Extremely Helpful. I am still in the midst of writing our business plan, and keep referring back to this website after purchasing the Film Financial Projects template and Film Business Plan template. Not only do both continue to be the right tools (after researching A LOT and seeing others out there) but the website resources are extremely helpful as well.

I like having the template to follow, but also know that film business plans are different than regular business plans. That makes the task seem very daunting, especially gathering the financial data needed to plead your case to investors. By far that is the toughest part, so having the financial template makes it a lot less scary to tackle.

Other than this site, which I keep coming back to, I have also found Louise Levinson's book "Filmmakers and Financing" to be extremely helpful. There is a sample business plan in the book, but the Film Proposal business plan template is much easier to follow and a better guide. Levinson's book is a great resource for WHY each section of the business plan needs to be a certain way, but I use the Film Proposal template for actually writing the plan. - Frances

2020 is YOUR Year - Make Your Movie

FilmProposals Business Plan Package

Fast Track Your Film Financing Today!

Silver

Most Popular
$139

***Gold***

NEWEST!
$499

Testimonials

Check out some of our Filmmaker Reviews
  • Just want to thank you for your materials and help over the past year. I could not have raised the $1.5 million or made this film without the materials you provided -- and for $99? The bargain of my career!

    James, Producer, Writer, Director
  • I'm now sending out my completed business plan/film proposal document to potential investors and the one comment I'm getting back almost immediately is that it's so well laid out and professional. Believe me, first impressions really do count.

    Kathleen
  • This is perfect! I have potential investors but I had no idea how to prepare a professional investment package to present to them. (I'm an artiste', not a business person. :) ) The information is clear and easy to understand, and Melissa is very prompt in answering emails.

    Balancing Act Pictures LLC
  • When I came across the Business Plan Tools and the Finance Guide, I felt like I could stop searching for the pot of gold...I’d found it. In one place, with clear, easy to follow materials and spreadsheets, my questions were answered.

    Barry, Filmmaker
  • Hi Melissa! I purchased Package #3 a couple of days ago, and I feel like I'm taking a crash course in film financing. So far, what I've read and learned has been invaluable. Thank you!

    Emily
  • I've made short films before, but this is my first feature, and the first film I've tried raising money for. This template, actually the whole package, has been invaluable and well worth the money I spent on it. So much information is packed into what I got that I'm almost dizzy from it all.

    Wade

I found your software to be exceptionally useful for me in helping to define the financial aspects of making and potentially profiting from a film. Having worn many different hats in the entertainment business over the years I finally decided to seek out a great project and then get it financed. As a first time Executive Producer I found your software first to be great for helping me understand film financing and second helping the various investors who we have been pitching to better understand their risks and potential rewards. I would certainly recommend this software to anyone thinking about seeking financing for films.- Robert Bovill

I needed a good, quick template for multi-modeling a TV Special, with various distribution channels, and all the templates from my former life at a major are multiple sheets (very large), too complex and difficult for a lite Excel user. (And archived someplace on iomega jaz on top of that.)

I came here from a search, and I was drawn to the Film Projections Template and the possibility of opening it up to change text cells and add a few lines for my distribution channel needs.

I'm very pleased with the result. The folks here were quick to answer my questions, and supplied me with the unlocked spreadsheet as promised. (I dare say that Support here was far more responsive than the IT group I dealt with at a major. They even write in normal person language.)

The resultant projections are what I needed, and the early feedback from the "suits" in this project is that I've presented a clear yet compact overview of the prospects. (Actually, more like surprise that it could be presented so concisely and without a complex MBA-style model.)

By the way, in my projections not all the outcomes are golden, and that adds to my respect for the template.
- TV Producer now Consultant

The Whole She-bang!! I purchased the whole set. There is quite a bit of information to digest, and even after spending about a year and a half doing research and gathering information,there is quite a bit in here that was very helpful and that will be utilized, not only in the short term, but the long term as well.

I would like to see some additional alternatives, as well, to represent the changing landscape of this industry. (For example, web series, internet marketing revenues, and some of the emerging technology.) These can be modified to account for these with little effort, but would be curious to see if there might be a different or better way.
- Alexis Adkins

I can truly say that the support with any technical question or concern was addressed in a timely manner. I really appreciate Melissa taking the time to work with me because I am not computer savvy. The Film Template did all the work for the Budget I had to submit in my Business Plan. It's Great!!
- Sherry Bradley

The customer service and Business Plan Template provided by Film Proposals is great! I screwed up and downloaded the template, which is great, but my partner already had already purchased it and had it in place on another project. They were prompt in providing me the 100% refund with no questions asked.
-Peter

Both the proposal for indies and the template for profit projections proved to be invaluable tools in putting together my proposal package for the film I am presently developing.

This Would Have Saved me $2,000. Absolutely Essential. Hi - Seth Hymes from Film School Secrets. I'm an NYU Film Grad and Independent Filmmaker. Several years ago I hired an attorney to help me draft a business plan and Private Placement Memorandum to raise money for a film project called "Breaking Balls". Using those documents I raised $30,000 from private investors. A friend recently referred me to filmproposals.com and I realized I could have saved myself $1,000-$2,000 in attorney fees by using this software!

The information here is extremely valuable to an independent filmmaker looking to present themselves in a professional, compelling manner to potential investors. These kinds of documents do get results. And it offers information and training I didn't even get in a top film school. I only wish I had known about FilmProposals earlier!

These products are very very good and also the customer assistance is very quick. I am very satisfied. Thanks, Elena Baldessari

Best money I ever spent! I postponed writing my business plan because it was (in my mind) the hardest thing I would ever do. Procrastination was key here. That's when I saw the Film Financing Manual and Business Plan Template. Eureka! As it turned out, the business plan WAS the hardest thing I've ever done, but with the tools in the package, it made it much less stressful and the more I got into it, I thought to myself - YES!!! - thank god someone knows what they're doing...

I'm now sending out my completed business plan/film proposal document to potential investors and the one comment I'm getting back almost immediately is that it's so well laid out and professional. Believe me, first impressions really do count. When someone sees that you take your business seriously, they're much more likely to take you and your projects seriously. Best money I ever spent!

- Kathleen

I had no idea it was feasible to get a handle on film finance myself and was really inspired to see I don't have to be a writer hawking scripts until I die. I can actually make my film!

I was also inspired by how much information is out there to facilitate first-time film making, and how much FilmProposals is on top of this information.
- Jane

2020 is YOUR Year - Make Your Movie

FilmProposals Business Plan Package

Fast Track Your Film Financing Today!

Silver

Most Popular
$139

***Gold***

NEWEST!
$499

Testimonials

Check out some of our Filmmaker Reviews
  • Just want to thank you for your materials and help over the past year. I could not have raised the $1.5 million or made this film without the materials you provided -- and for $99? The bargain of my career!

    James, Producer, Writer, Director
  • I'm now sending out my completed business plan/film proposal document to potential investors and the one comment I'm getting back almost immediately is that it's so well laid out and professional. Believe me, first impressions really do count.

    Kathleen
  • This is perfect! I have potential investors but I had no idea how to prepare a professional investment package to present to them. (I'm an artiste', not a business person. :) ) The information is clear and easy to understand, and Melissa is very prompt in answering emails.

    Balancing Act Pictures LLC
  • When I came across the Business Plan Tools and the Finance Guide, I felt like I could stop searching for the pot of gold...I’d found it. In one place, with clear, easy to follow materials and spreadsheets, my questions were answered.

    Barry, Filmmaker
  • Hi Melissa! I purchased Package #3 a couple of days ago, and I feel like I'm taking a crash course in film financing. So far, what I've read and learned has been invaluable. Thank you!

    Emily
  • I've made short films before, but this is my first feature, and the first film I've tried raising money for. This template, actually the whole package, has been invaluable and well worth the money I spent on it. So much information is packed into what I got that I'm almost dizzy from it all.

    Wade

I am an independent producer preparing projections for investors. I found your program one of the few available online that is actually useful, so I hope you are making a fortune with it. - Toby

Like a 6 week business course in a short Manual. Vastly exceeded my expectations for the price. I wish I'd found you before I started spending all that time looking for film info on the internet. You would have saved me dozens of hours (and I'm worth at least a dollar an hour, ha)! I actually think these products could be used for any type of business plan, not just film. There's a lot of film stuff in there, but the template could easily be used to write another type of biz plan. - Steve

Everything but Hybrid Distribution. After reading the book "Film Business Plan and Investor Guide", I bought the Silver package from Film Proposals. Going through the package demystifies the whole Business Proposal. Between the Business Plan Template, Film Financial Template, Financing Manual, Film Pitch Deck and Film Investor Agreement Outline, a substantial chunk of the Business Proposal is covered and is a great start for independent producers who have never created a proposal before.
- Swati (January 2020)

Swati Additional Feedback:

I think there is room for improvement as follows:

a) Include a "Cash Flow Projection" - the Financing manual recommends adding one, but the package doesn't include one. As a producer who wants to make a comprehensive package that includes a Cash Flow Projection, this can be a hindrance as it has to be figured out from somewhere else.

b) Include a hybrid distribution budget/ template/ strategy - More and more indie films are trying to figure out a Hybrid Distribution Strategy as they realize the "festival to distributor" strategy is akin to winning the lottery TWICE. The proposal focuses almost entirely on the traditional distribution pipeline, both in its financial projections as well as its verbiage. No savvy producer/ investor can rely on that strategy anymore leaving the proposal wanting in that regard.

FilmProposals Response:

Hi Swati - thanks so much for your detailed and constructive feedback.

Cash Flow Projections are difficult at best, and require a lot of fixed information we couldn’t possibly put into a template that would be manageable for an average Excel user. Since every film and production company is entirely different, there is not enough "starter" information (known inputs) to put into a template. If you do manage to find a Film Cash Flow Projection template online, we’d love to see it. We have not found one in our 15+ years in business, and the exact reason we offer this as a service under our Business Plan Services.

Hybrid Distribution - hopefully by now, you have found the variable lines for all hybrid distribution models in the Film Financial Projections template. All types of S/VOD and other models are in there and you can rework that template any way you wish, even completely ignoring traditional distribution if you choose to do so. We also hope you found the multiple references to various distribution models in the Business Plan Template. Of course there is far more information on the traditional distribution model, because as we state @ Film Business Plan VOD Projections, "VOD is too new of a concept to have a track record of comparable films on which you can base your projections." We know plenty of filmmakers who do still (as of 2020) follow the traditional distribution model and are highly successful, we believe your statement of "No savvy producer/ investor can rely on that strategy anymore " is inaccurate and misleading to other aspiring filmmakers. We do strongly encourage you to pursue any and all distribution paths that work for you and your film and wish you the best of luck! However, we are not writing off the traditional film model any time soon.

If there exists a one stop shop for a business plan and crash course in film finance this is probably it. The real value here is the market data - I'd pay 100$ for that alone. A real time saver.

You probably want to contact a lawyer as many of the details laid out in the plan are for a very specific type of structure and there are many ways to structure the deal. Based on the content I saw there's no reason not to use the recommended lawyer in the package. Seems like this is well thought out.- Grant

The Film Proposals Financing Package #3 I purchased contains a plethora of information to help the filmmaker overcome the most common hurdle of making a movie...money.

I found all the material to be very useful, well laid out and easy to get through. There was very little "filler" and there was a lot of great information. Highly recommended.

I have produced commercials, documentaries and corporate videos but never Indie films. With only 19 pages including the cover, contents page etc., the manual is thinner than expected. On the other hand, the concise manual does deliver and provide all the necessary information, tools and resources I need to create my first film proposal with confidence. I am also grateful that they so graciously replaced without charge a previous version of the manual which I deleted by accident.
- Leo Loh

2020 is YOUR Year - Make Your Movie

FilmProposals Business Plan Package

Fast Track Your Film Financing Today!

Silver

Most Popular
$139

***Gold***

NEWEST!
$499

Testimonials

Check out some of our Filmmaker Reviews
  • Just want to thank you for your materials and help over the past year. I could not have raised the $1.5 million or made this film without the materials you provided -- and for $99? The bargain of my career!

    James, Producer, Writer, Director
  • I'm now sending out my completed business plan/film proposal document to potential investors and the one comment I'm getting back almost immediately is that it's so well laid out and professional. Believe me, first impressions really do count.

    Kathleen
  • This is perfect! I have potential investors but I had no idea how to prepare a professional investment package to present to them. (I'm an artiste', not a business person. :) ) The information is clear and easy to understand, and Melissa is very prompt in answering emails.

    Balancing Act Pictures LLC
  • When I came across the Business Plan Tools and the Finance Guide, I felt like I could stop searching for the pot of gold...I’d found it. In one place, with clear, easy to follow materials and spreadsheets, my questions were answered.

    Barry, Filmmaker
  • Hi Melissa! I purchased Package #3 a couple of days ago, and I feel like I'm taking a crash course in film financing. So far, what I've read and learned has been invaluable. Thank you!

    Emily
  • I've made short films before, but this is my first feature, and the first film I've tried raising money for. This template, actually the whole package, has been invaluable and well worth the money I spent on it. So much information is packed into what I got that I'm almost dizzy from it all.

    Wade

Jan 23, 2010
19 Pages - a Rip Off
by: Lori McCarthy

I just purchased your Film Proposals Financing Manual Item# FPMan. And it is not what I was expecting at all. I want my money back. It says on your website, 7 day money back guarantee. Please... $29 for a 19 page manual what a rip off. Thank you for your help in this matter. - Lori McCarthy

FilmProposals Response - Lori, we are happy to provide a refund (and have done so). We post these comments here to show we are not hiding anything, but that all feedback submitted is published.

However, I'm not sure what else we can do - except make the Manual longer? Was there specific information missing? How can we make the manual better, besides making it longer?

True business people like concise, factual documents - no FLUFF - and that is exactly the design of our Film Proposals and Financing Manual. We apologize if you thought another 100 pages would provide you more valuable information - based on our experience, that is not the way a Film Proposal works.

Start Your Financing in Five Minutes - 2020 is YOUR Year

FilmProposals Business Plan Package

Fast Track Your Film Financing Today!

Silver

Most Popular
$139

***Gold***

NEWEST!
$499

Testimonials

Check out some of our Filmmaker Reviews
  • Just want to thank you for your materials and help over the past year. I could not have raised the $1.5 million or made this film without the materials you provided -- and for $99? The bargain of my career!

    James, Producer, Writer, Director
  • I'm now sending out my completed business plan/film proposal document to potential investors and the one comment I'm getting back almost immediately is that it's so well laid out and professional. Believe me, first impressions really do count.

    Kathleen
  • This is perfect! I have potential investors but I had no idea how to prepare a professional investment package to present to them. (I'm an artiste', not a business person. :) ) The information is clear and easy to understand, and Melissa is very prompt in answering emails.

    Balancing Act Pictures LLC
  • When I came across the Business Plan Tools and the Finance Guide, I felt like I could stop searching for the pot of gold...I’d found it. In one place, with clear, easy to follow materials and spreadsheets, my questions were answered.

    Barry, Filmmaker
  • Hi Melissa! I purchased Package #3 a couple of days ago, and I feel like I'm taking a crash course in film financing. So far, what I've read and learned has been invaluable. Thank you!

    Emily
  • I've made short films before, but this is my first feature, and the first film I've tried raising money for. This template, actually the whole package, has been invaluable and well worth the money I spent on it. So much information is packed into what I got that I'm almost dizzy from it all.

    Wade

FilmProposals Tools and Templates

FilmProposals Business Plan Templates